What Security Cameras do I buy to use with My Viasat internet?

• Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Acknowledged
I have Viasat satellite wifi, I want to install wireless, waterproof, solar powered security cameras that I can check on remotely. Does anyone have a recommendation as to brand? Also note I am not tech savvy at all so I do not know how to change tech type numbers, etc.
Photo of Bonnie Joshi

Bonnie Joshi

• 4 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 2 months ago

Photo of Tim Spake

Tim Spake

• 499 Posts
  • 272 Reply Likes
I wouldnt use this wifi for security cameras. Unreliable at best
Photo of Bonnie Joshi

Bonnie Joshi

• 4 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
This is absolutely the only internet that is offered where I live.  It is very remote.

Photo of privatejordy

privatejordy

• 169 Posts
  • 63 Reply Likes
Reolink is a great little unit that will reconnect. Amazon offers the solar panel + camera bundles at a discount, and their cloud is free. Many settings allow you to tweak resolution, sensitivity etc., which might be really important depending on which plan you have. They also support sd micro cards, so they can be used without wifi too.
Photo of Bonnie Joshi

Bonnie Joshi

• 4 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Thank you for the information!! I am going to check these out now!!
Photo of privatejordy

privatejordy

• 169 Posts
  • 63 Reply Likes
The cloud is free for one camera, and the most affordable for multiple cameras. If you don't have good southern exposure or obstructions, their stand alone solar panels have higher output. They have great customer service too!
Photo of Mark

Mark

• 53 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes