Student pricing

• Problem
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
I am a student.  Satellite is my only option for internet as I live out in the country.  I can not afford $125 or more for internet per month.  Are there any programs to help students?
Photo of Keith Fort

Keith Fort

• 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 weeks ago

Photo of ExSatUser

ExSatUser

• 1466 Posts
  • 867 Reply Likes
Not that I am aware of.
Photo of Homeskillet

Homeskillet

• 297 Posts
  • 114 Reply Likes
What is available to you depends on zip code and there are no student or senior citizen discounts. Some areas have plans starting at $60, most don't these days and they start at double that + an installation charge. The cost of wireless internet and it's usability depend on location, location, location. It is best to see what your neighbors are using and if they are satisfied. Also read all the fine print including if the prices are introductory rates.
Photo of ExSatUser

ExSatUser

• 1466 Posts
  • 867 Reply Likes
Not to mention if you commit, you are on the hook for 2 years unless you pay a $15/month penalty.

Do you anticipate living and needing internet where you are at for the next 2+ years?
Photo of Keith Fort

Keith Fort

• 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hard to say.  As a student I am graduating this year so I may move.  Internet is required for me to do my homework.  I can go to the library but living so far out of town in a rural area I need something.  The Sats have a monopoly and they make sure they abuse that power.  I feel helpless.  
Photo of ExSatUser

ExSatUser

• 1454 Posts
  • 859 Reply Likes
Yes. Unfortunately unless you can get one of those rare plans at your location, you are paying $100+/month for satellite internet
Photo of Homeskillet

Homeskillet

• 287 Posts
  • 105 Reply Likes