Possible spam: Quarantine database maintenance

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
I got an email from Wildblue, but I'm not sure if it is really from y'all or not. I have been getting tons of spam and am very hesitant to follow any link that wants me to sign in and says if I don't my account will be deleted. This is what it says.
Dear customer, A Quarantine database maintenance is currently being carried out on our e-mail servers to upgrade spam and junk mail protection. We are also deleting all unused accounts in time for new accounts. To avoid closure of your account, you are obliged to update your account for the effect. CLICK HERE FOR MyExede Account Wildblue Account Alternatively you can go directly to the link below: www.wildblue.com/members/update/autopay.aspx If you have any questions please contact our Billing Department atwww.wildblue.com/contact. Thank You, The Wildblue/Exede Internet Team Warning:This email was automatically sent to You, Please do not reply back to this email.
Photo of Barbara Blanchard

Barbara Blanchard

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Markgc

Markgc, Champion

  • 359 Posts
  • 94 Reply Likes
Looks a bit suspicious.to me....I would wait and see what the exede employees on this forum say.
Photo of Steve Frederick-VS1/Beam314

Steve Frederick-VS1/Beam314, Champion

  • 3203 Posts
  • 2063 Reply Likes
Barbara, this would appear to me to be a scam to try to get your personal information and sign in credentials. ViaSat/Exede/Wildblue does not normally send these types of emails.

You should send a copy of this email to the moderators at exedelistens@viasat.com so they can forward this to their scam investigation team.

These type of scams continue to plague users of the internet.

This looks like a repeat of the scam 9 months ago. See this thread in the forum for information https://community.exede.com/exede/topics/quarantine-database-maintenance-9-2015
Photo of Bev

Bev, Champion

  • 3287 Posts
  • 1463 Reply Likes
it's a scam, those pages do not exist on WildBlue.com so there is a redirect in them in the email to a phishing site that may look legitimate but is not.
Photo of Exede Lindsey

Exede Lindsey

  • 1827 Posts
  • 163 Reply Likes
Hello Barbara, 

Thank you for this information, a few of our customers have escalated these emails to us already. Our security team are currently reviewing and investigating this phishing email. Please be cautious that you do not give any personal information as this is a phishing scam. If the link has been clicked malicious attacks could possibly happen to your email. Please be cautious with these emails. A halt to this email is in the works. Thank you 

Quarantine Database Maintenance Spam