New to Viasat and have questions on the speed

• Question
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • Acknowledged
I am new to Viasat and I was wondering why the iphone app kept showing i was using no data when I had watched some you tube videos? Also why does it stop the video streams? I have the 25 package but that max rate i get is 16.9 to 17.2. I mostly show getting 5.9 to 12.8 so i am wondering is this normal? i kind of expected to be around the 20s most of the time.
Photo of John Hey

John Hey

• 13 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 months ago

Photo of ExSatUser

ExSatUser

• 1600 Posts
  • 934 Reply Likes
So much to go off here. You expect in the 20's all the time? I just ask why you think that.

1) What is your package. "Unlimited"? Liberty? Bronze? Silver? Gold? How much priority data do you get each month?
2) Do you have a white triangle modem or something else?

Answer these two questions and we will be able to comment better.
Photo of John Hey

John Hey

• 13 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
OK. NO I do not expect to see it all the time but I thought that I should have higher speed than I am seeing now. I know they say UP TO 25....

1. I have the Unlimited Silver 25 plan with 60 Gig Data
2. I have a black modem. Only have my Iphone X and Mac Book Pro using the system.

Thanks for your help.
(Edited)
Photo of Bob Lexus

Bob Lexus

• 338 Posts
  • 118 Reply Likes
The built in wifi is pathetically anemic.

If you get 20+ when plugged directly into modem you can expect to typically get about half or a little less via the builtin wifi
And the wifi signal range is much shorter than many 3rd party routers

You want to set your streaming to 480 instead of default resolution which is often higher.

The bandwidth monitor updates randomly, sometimes in an hour or up to 12 hours before updating...
Photo of John Hey

John Hey

• 13 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes