Hacking and warning emails

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Acknowledged
I am getting a warning email about my wildblue from JEROMECURTIS@zoho.com
It says, "Dear Account User!
Your Email account will soon be suspended (As we are currently undergoing maintenance of our service channels) CLICK HERE to update your account immediately. Please follow Instruction on this message and your account will be updated within 24hours.
Thank you for using our On-line Services.
Technical Support Team.

@ 2016 "

I have had to change my primary email to google because all of my contacts kept getting wildblue email hackers. My security is excellent; what is the problem? Why am I getting wildblue WARNINGS?
Photo of Karen Robinson

Karen Robinson

  • 0 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Old Labs (VS1-329-L12FZ)

Old Labs (VS1-329-L12FZ)

  • 4281 Posts
  • 4368 Reply Likes
That is a fraudulent "phishing" email attempt - they're hoping that you're naive enough to "click here" which will take you to a site where you'll be prompted for your user name and password, and thus your account will be fully compromised.

All it takes for these individuals to send these is knowing a valid email address - the only easy to avoid them is to use extreme caution in giving out your email address. If it's coming in on your GMail account they know your GMail address; if coming in on your Wildblue/Exede email account they know that address.

Don't "click here"... neither GMail nor Wildblue/Exede nor any other ISP send these types of emails to their subscribers. The fact that it's from jeromecurtis is the giveaway - usually they are much more sophisticated than that.               

Photo of Exede Lindsey

Exede Lindsey

  • 1827 Posts
  • 163 Reply Likes
Hey Karen,

This email is most definitely a scam. I would suggest updating your password for added security.  Please be cautious that you do not give any personal information out as this is a scam. If the link has been clicked malicious attacks could possibly happen to your email. Please be cautious with these phishing emails, If you have any further questions or concerns please send us an email to exedelistens@viasat.com.