Data usage vanishes

• Problem
  • Updated 4 years ago
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: older post

I have been using Exede for almost 2 years.  It is obvious that my usage is is disappearing into hyperspace or I am simply being defrauded like so many others on this forum. I need the Internet for my business so  I signed  up for 25Gb and pay $129 plus a month.  Sometimes my allowance disappears by the 10th of the month! I am forced to buy more. I have just wasted half an hour on the phone with Garret (I majored in IT - woo hoo).  I have spent over 40 years in the computer and network business. His first suggestion is someone is stealing my wi-fi. I live on a 4 acre lot miles from potential wi-fi bandits. Next he suggests I monitor my usage.  He trots out  what usage categories I have used; media downloads, file exchange etc.  He cannot differentiate whether the usage was in the so called free period or not.  He then tells me my usage is used up.  I received a notification that I was at 70% the day before yesterday.  Yesterday the service was down most of the day.  Since this is not my first complaint I ask what he is going to do.  He was unable to come up with anything other than suggesting I monitor my usage.
I am distressed to see the numerous complaint like mine.
By the way, immediately after the call I received a message saying my usage had been EXEDED - there's a surprise.
Photo of Patrick O'Hearn

Patrick O'Hearn

• 8 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

Photo of JEP

JEP

• 987 Posts
  • 718 Reply Likes
If you have any background cloud services enabled, they can burn through many GB in a day.  This includes things like Dropbox, OneDrive, Microsoft Live services, some other Google services, etc.  I used to monitor my usage in a paranoid fashion, and have plugged all of those leaks.