Data usage counts wrong

• Problem
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Acknowledged
  • (Edited)
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members.

I am a network trace engineer for Microsoft for the last 9 years and have been working in the network industry for the last 24 years. I recently moved into a lake house and ordered Exede Service. After the technician hooked up the satellite, I logged in to set up my account and it showed 2.1GB of usage after 10 minutes (and the only thing I was doing was setting up my account) because of that I connected my network sniffer behind my router to get a 100% accurate byte count. It ran all night and the sniffer hardware showed 900mb of data over night. When I logged on to my Exede account it showed 9.1GB.

It's obvious there is a problem. It is either with the way they collect the data or how they calculate, but they need to focus on the problem and fix it. It is obvious I'm not receiving the service I am paying for. I would like an answer from Exede and lacking that, I would say this is prime for a class action suit. If I can hook up a network sniffer, so can others and I would say that if this has been going on for months or years across all Exede customers, this could be millions of dollars they are bilking us out of.

Photo of mackals

mackals

• 5 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes

Posted 4 years ago

Photo of Sandra Hansen

Sandra Hansen

• 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like