ASUS AC-3200 Router Setup Behind Exede Modem Router

• Question
  • Updated 5 months ago
  • Answered
I currently have an ASUS AC-3200, but for the most part this will apply to any router, but has anyone had any success with setting up another router behind the Exede modem/router (essentially having the Exede modem as a bridge). I'm just about ready to try anything at this point. The reasoning for me is to add an extra level of security, and to be able to monitor traffic better. Plus the AC-3200 has much more features.
Photo of Stephen Stecyk

Stephen Stecyk

• 25 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 1 year ago

Photo of les

les

• 85 Posts
  • 20 Reply Likes
I have been using netgear routers for the past several years and they do work great.
but they lack the ongoing support after a couple years they no longer offer any updates to firmware that a few other router makers do.
 my connection with the viasat modem has continued to work just fine.
but as far as security? my current wn/1000 could do better if they had firmware updates.
 I read the asus have a better record for firmware updates and may switch to that brand in the future.

*  I look forward to reading what "old Labs" might have to say on this subject.
his posts are informative concerning routers.

Photo of Old Labs

Old Labs

• 3678 Posts
  • 3689 Reply Likes
I have no insight on how to do this with the newer Exede Wifi modem/router/voice device. I've followed some of the threads here and there's yet to be a definitive answer. It seems to be a hodge-podge of information across multiple threads and sometimes contradictory. It's simply to difficult to follow without having access to the router itself and its UI.

The user guide doesn't have sufficient information regarding doing this either beyond some very basic setup.